Chocolate Macarons with Sour Cherry Buttercream

I think the fact it is Semi-finals Week on GBBO has got me eggstra eggcited (sorry…).  We have been a vegan household for the past six months so my bakes have consequently also been dairy/egg free.   After using eggs to make petit canelé this morning, I had some whites left over so (continuing with the French patisserie theme) I thought I’d have my first attempt at macarons…

I used this recipe but made up my own filling as I thought it would be more interesting and less sweet than just chocolate.  I’m also slightly obsessed with the sour cherry fruit powder a friend bought me for my birthday and have been using it at every opportunity – recipe for Sour Cherry Vegan Bakewell coming soon!

For the filling, I combined 1/4 cup of vegan margarine, 3/4 cup of icing sugar and 2 tsp of sour cherry fruit powder until fully incorporated and used it to sandwich the macarons halves together.  At the time of writing, I have yet to sample one myself, but my housemate said they were ‘perfect’ and who am I to argue 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

