Chocolate, Chilli & Avocado Cake (Vegan)

IMG_8631

The return of the Great British Bake Off on my birthday this year was a pretty awesome present from the BBC…I was excited to eye up the new batch of bakers and their creations.  I was also well up for the challenge of baking something I had never tried before.  But most importantly, I knew it would finally get me back into posting on this blog after too long a break.  So here is my first GBBO recipe (and first post) of 2016…enjoy!

I wanted to see what the baking-with-avocado fuss was all about and came across this recipe for Mexican Chocolate Avocado Cake.  As I only wanted to make a loaf cake, I halved the quantities and made a few minor tweaks according to taste including adding chilli – which was a huge risk as I wanted to use fresh but had no idea how much to put in.  Thankfully the amount I used gave just enough spice and provided a hint of red to  the finished cake.  Here’s the recipe:

Cake: Ingredients
  • 1/2 a medium red chilli (finely chopped, seeds discarded – wash hands thoroughly afterwards!)
  • 3oz/90g good quality dark chocolate
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 & 1/4 cups plain flour
  • 1/4 cup ground almonds
  • 1 tsp ground mixed spice
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 tsp white wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 medium avocado, mashed.
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup soft brown sugar
Cake: Method
  1. Preheat your oven to 350°F/180°C/Gas 4.
  2. Line a 2lb loaf tin (I use lining cases as they are super easy).
  3. Break the chocolate up into a heatproof bowl, add the cocoa and a little of the water, and place over a pan of simmering water until melted.  Allow to cool a little.
  4. Sift the flour, bicarbonate of soda and baking powder into a large mixing bowl before adding all of the other dry ingredients.
  5. Mix the vinegar and avocado into the melted chocolate, pour into the bowl of dry ingredients then combine.
  6. Pour into the tin and bake for around 40 minutes.
  7. Remove your cake from the oven and leave to cool in the tin for around 10 minutes before taking it out of the tin and leaving it to cool completely on a wire rack.
Glaze

The original recipe includes a chocolate avocado ‘buttercream’ but I had run out of avocado so improvised and made a simple chocolate glaze instead.  I can’t be exact with quantities but it was roughly 75g good quality dark chocolate, 3tbsp olive oil, and 1 tsp honey, melted together in a bowl over a pan of simmering water then left to cool slightly before being poured over the cake.  I used the other half of the chilli as a garnish.

Notes
  • The cake was very moist and fairly dense in texture (a bit like Jamaica Ginger Cake) so the knife didn’t come out completely clean when I was testing to see if it was done – I just used my judgement.
  • Its Jamaica Ginger-like texture also made me think that substituting the chilli with ginger would work well, if not better!

 

Leave a Reply

