Date and walnut ‘brownies’

Inspired by several other similar recipes on here- and a shop-bought bar- I decided to make my own version, using 1 cup of pitted dates, 1 cup of walnuts, 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder, and 1 tablespoon of soya protein powder. Some recipes suggest also adding something like maple syrup, but I think these ingredients are sweet enough already. I decided to add the soya to increase protein content and help reduce the sugar high.

I whizzed the ingredients in a food processor, adding a little water until it came together in a satisfying mix.

The texture isn’t exactly brownie like, but I think it tastes amazing just eaten with a spoon. It also works as a nutritious Nutella alternative spread on toast, and I reckon would be amazing rolled into truffles and dipped in melted dark chocolate. I would also like to try the recipe again, substituting the walnuts for a less bitter nut such as pecan or cashew, or adding chilli or mint. Mmm…so many possibilities!

20140808-181009-65409092.jpg

One thought on “Date and walnut ‘brownies’

Leave a Reply

