Silence

As a teacher I spend a large proportion of my time asking people to be silent, or at least quieter. I accept this as part of my job. Crowds of people, of friends- not just teenagers, like to communicate and this creates noise. Of course, the energy and excitement and impatience of young people can be headache inducing. This I accept. But I am concerned that their constant need to talk or listen to music means they are losing touch with silence: the opportunity to think, to occupy themselves without constant aural stimulation, to just be. They need to learn that silence can be cherished as well as feared. We all do!

Leave a Reply

